Skip to content
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Lawyer

My specialties

IT Law

Information technology law (“IT law”) concerns the large area of software, hardware and data processing, which is developing and changing faster than almost any other area. It is therefore easy to lose track here. We offer you sound advice and support you in all legal matters relating to your IT, including contract review and drafting, licenses, hosting and, last but not least, cybersecurity, to ensure that your IT business practices are legally sound and protected from malicious interference.

Commercial Law

You will hardly experience a working day on which you are not confronted with questions of commercial law, regardless of whether these are your own terms and conditions of delivery or purchase, ongoing agreements with customers or project-specific contracts. With our many years of experience, we can help you with the rapid provision of standard contracts as well as with the drafting of complex special agreements. We can also check the rules and regulations of your business partners and assist you in contract negotiations.

Company law

Company law covers the legal relationships between companies managed as partnerships (GbR, oHG, KG, PartG) or corporations (GmbH, UG, AG, SE, Verein), their shareholders and their executive bodies. Company law regulates and organizes the mostly similar but individual interests of these parties. If – as is often the case – the general statutory regulations do not adequately reflect the interests of the parties involved, they can use individual agreements and regulations to create a set of rules that deviates from the general statutory regulations and is tailored to their needs. Company law offers a great deal of freedom for this, which needs to be utilized. If disputes nevertheless arise between the company, shareholders or executive bodies, a forward-looking approach will prove its worth in the event of a company dispute.

Constructive law - that is an important keyword for my work.

Contracts, for example, are plans, just as technical drawings are plans. If you know many design elements and how they interact, you can design better. I have been designing since 1976; most of my publications concern contract law, including 100 pages of IT contracts with commentaries. Creative ideas are often required.

Always ask about the statics: Will it hold? In most cases, we need to ask about the dynamics: How can this develop further? The question of practical usefulness must always be asked: Is the text understandable for the non-lawyers who are supposed to deal with it? Is it a tool for the contracting parties to get along?

In my head, law is a construction kit that I can use to create constructive solutions. For me, this is a great task.

Career

Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch studied law and literature at the Universities of Hamburg, Geneva and Freiburg im Breisgau. He completed his legal clerkship at the Regional Court of Karlsruhe and at the Senator for Science and Art in Berlin.

In 1976, he joined the law firm founded by his father Alfred Bartsch in 1950, which operated under the name “Bartsch und Partner” until June 30, 2011. He gave the firm its focus on law and technology.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch was appointed Dr. rer. pol. He received his doctorate from the University of Karlsruhe and was appointed honorary professor at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design in 1999.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch is one of the founders of IT law in Germany. He was the founding chairman of the “Deutsche Gesellschaft für Informationstechnologie und Recht e. V.” which later became one of the two founding institutions of the “Deutsche Gesellschaft für Recht und Informatik e. V. (DGRI)”, and was most recently Chairman of the Advisory Board of this scientific society. He has been a member of the editorial board of the journal “Computer und Recht” since 1987 and is now its editor-in-chief. In the winter semester 1984/1985, he held the first lecture on IT contract law at a German university at the University of Karlsruhe.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch has published numerous articles on contract law, in particular on the drafting of contracts in the field of information technology.

The magazine “Computer und Recht” dedicated the October 2011 issue to his 65th birthday and the October 2016 issue to his 70th birthday. The German Society for Law and Informatics (DGRI) published a detailed biographical tribute in its 2011 yearbook (author: Thomas Heymann).

Prof. Dr. Bartsch was invited to speak at the German Jurists’ Conference 2016 on the topic of “Digital economy – analog law – does the German Civil Code need an update?”.

Memberships

Education

  • Studied law and literature at the Universities of Hamburg, Geneva and Freiburg im Breisgau
  • Legal clerkship at the Regional Court of Karlsruhe and at the Senator for Science and Art in Berlin
  • Doctorate (Dr. rer. pol. at the University of Karlsruhe (Software und das Jahr 2000 – Haftung und Versicherungsschutz für ein technisches Großproblem, Nomos Verlag Baden-Baden 1998)

Teaching activities

Good to know

Assistance
Helen Trümper
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. Oliver Klein
Wolfgang Döring
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Sarah Zentner
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Sabine Przerwok
Florian Krug
Marin Mrvelj
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Hendrik Stroborn
Constanze Stallecker
Marc Blaha
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Bernhard Fritz
Daniel Scharpf
Ulrich A. Goetz
Rüdiger Strubel
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. Oliver Klein
Wolfgang Döring
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Sarah Zentner
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Sabine Przerwok
Florian Krug
Marin Mrvelj
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Hendrik Stroborn
Constanze Stallecker
Marc Blaha
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Bernhard Fritz
Daniel Scharpf
Ulrich A. Goetz
Rüdiger Strubel
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Rückruf

Bitte hinterlassen Sie Ihre Kontaktdaten und eine Zeitspanne, in der Sie am besten zu erreichen sind.

Öffnungszeiten:  Mo. bis Fr.  08–17 Uhr

Bahnhofstraße 10
76137 Karlsruhe
Marc Blaha
Sarah Zentner
Dr. Oliver Klein
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Florian Krug
Sabine Przerwok
Constanze Stallecker
Hendrik Stroborn
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Wolfgang Döring
Ulrich A. Goetz
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Marin Mrvelj
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Bernhard Fritz
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Daniel Scharpf
Rüdiger Strubel
Marc Blaha
Sarah Zentner
Dr. Oliver Klein
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Florian Krug
Sabine Przerwok
Constanze Stallecker
Hendrik Stroborn
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Wolfgang Döring
Ulrich A. Goetz
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Marin Mrvelj
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Bernhard Fritz
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Daniel Scharpf
Rüdiger Strubel
Callback

Please leave your contact details and a time when you can best be reached.

Opening hours: Mon. until Fri. 08-17 o’clock

Bahnhofstraße 10
76137 Karlsruhe

Skip to content
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Rechtsanwalt

Meine Spezialgebiete

IT-Recht

Das Recht der Informationstechnologie („IT-Recht“) betrifft den großen Bereich von Software, Hardware und Datenverarbeitung, der sich so schnell wie kaum eine andere Materie entwickelt und verändert. Leicht kann man daher hier den Überblick verlieren. Wir bieten Ihnen dazu fundierte Beratung an und unterstützen Sie bei allen rechtlichen Angelegenheiten im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer IT, ein-schließlich Vertragsprüfung und -erstellung, Lizenzen, Hosting und nicht zuletzt Cybersecurity, um sicherzustellen, dass Ihre IT-Geschäftspraktiken rechtlich einwandfrei und vor schädlichen Eingriffen geschützt sind.

Handelsrecht

Sie werden kaum einen Arbeitstag erleben, an dem Sie nicht mit Fragen des Handelsrechts konfrontiert werden, gleich ob dies Ihre eigenen Liefer- bzw. Einkaufsbedingungen (AGB) sind, laufende Vereinbarungen mit Kunden oder projektspezifisch aufgesetzte Verträge. Wir helfen Ihnen mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung zum einen bei der raschen Bereitstellung von Standardverträgen genau so wie mit der Ausarbeitung von komplexen Spezialvereinbarungen, zum anderen überprüfen wir für Sie die Regelwerke Ihrer Geschäftspartner und begleiten die Vertragsverhandlungen.

Gesellschaftsrecht

Das Gesellschaftsrecht umfasst die Rechtsbeziehungen zwischen den als Personengesellschaften (GbR, oHG, KG, PartG) oder Kapitalgesellschaften (GmbH, UG, AG, SE, Verein) geführten Unternehmen, ihren Gesellschaftern und ihren Organen. Die zumeist ähnlichen, aber doch individuellen Einzelinteressen dieser Beteiligten regelt und sortiert das Gesellschaftsrecht. Wenn – wie häufig – die allgemeinen gesetzlichen Regelungen die Interessen der Beteiligten nur unzureichend abbilden, können sie sich durch individuelle Vereinbarungen und Regelungen untereinander ein von den allgemeinen gesetzlichen Regelungen abweichendes, auf sie zugeschnittenes Regelwerk zu geben. Das Gesellschaftsrecht bietet hierfür große Gestaltungsfreiheit, die genutzt werden will. Kommt es dennoch zu Streitigkeiten zwischen Gesellschaft, Gesellschaftern oder Organen, bewährt sich bei der dann zu führenden Gesellschaftsstreitigkeit eine vorausschauende Gestaltung.

Konstruktives Recht – das ist ein wichtiges Stichwort für meine Arbeit.

Verträge beispielsweise sind Pläne, so wie technische Zeichnungen Pläne sind. Wer viele Konstruktionselemente kennt und weiß, wie sie zusammenwirken, kann besser konstruieren. Ich konstruiere seit 1976; die meisten meiner Veröffentlichungen betreffen das Vertragsrecht, darunter 100 Seiten IT-Verträge mit Kommentaren. Vielfach ist die kreative Idee gefragt.

Immer ist nach der Statik zu fragen: Hält das? Zumeist ist nach der Dynamik zu fragen: Wie kann sich das weiterentwickeln? Immer ist nach der praktischen Nützlichkeit zu fragen: Ist der Text für die Nichtjuristen, die damit umgehen sollen, verständlich? Ist er ein Hilfsmittel für die Vertragspartner, sich zu vertragen?

In meinem Kopf ist Recht ein Baukasten, mit dem ich konstruktiv Lösungen erstellen kann. Für mich ist das eine schöne Aufgabe.

Werdegang

Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch studierte Jura und Literaturwissenschaften an den Universitäten Hamburg, Genf und Freiburg im Breisgau. Er absolvierte sein Referendariat am Landgericht Karlsruhe und beim Senator für Wissenschaft und Kunst Berlin.

1976 trat er in die 1950 von seinem Vater Alfred Bartsch gegründete Anwaltskanzlei ein, die unter der Bezeichnung „Bartsch und Partner“ bis 30.06.2011 geführt wurde. Er gab der Kanzlei die Ausrichtung auf Recht und Technik.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch wurde zum Dr. rer. pol. an der Universität Karlsruhe promoviert und 1999 zum Honorarprofessor an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe ernannt.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch gehört zu den Begründern des IT-Rechts in Deutschland. Er war der Gründungsvorsitzende der „Deutschen Gesellschaft für Informationstechnologie und Recht e. V.“ , die später eine der beiden Gründungsinstitutionen der „Deutschen Gesellschaft für Recht und Informatik e. V. (DGRI)“ wurde, und war zuletzt Vorsitzender des Beirats dieser wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft. Er gehört seit 1987 zur Redaktion der Zeitschrift „Computer und Recht“ , inzwischen zur Schriftleitung dieser Zeitschrift. An der Universität Karlsruhe hielt er im Wintersemester 1984/1985 die erste Vorlesung zum IT-Vertragsrecht an einer deutschen Universität.

Prof. Dr. Bartsch ist durch eine Vielzahl von Veröffentlichungen zum Vertragsrecht hervorgetreten, insbesondere zur Vertragsgestaltung im Bereich der Informationstechnologie.

Die Zeitschrift „Computer und Recht“ widmete ihm das Heft Oktober 2011 zu seinem 65. Geburtstag und das Heft Oktober 2016 zu seinem 70. Geburtstag. Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Recht und Informatik (DGRI) veröffentlichte im Jahrbuch 2011 eine ausführliche biographische Würdigung (Autor: Thomas Heymann).

Für den Deutschen Juristentag 2016 war Prof. Dr. Bartsch eingeladen, zum Thema „Digitale Wirtschaft – Anlaloges Recht – Braucht das BGB ein Update?“ vorzutragen.

Mitgliedschaften

Ausbildung

  • Studium Jura und Literaturwissenschaften an den Universitäten Hamburg, Genf und Freiburg im Breisgau 
  • Referendariat am Landgericht Karlsruhe und beim Senator für Wissenschaft und Kunst Berlin 
  • Promotion zum Dr. rer. pol. an der Universität Karlsruhe (Software und das Jahr 2000 – Haftung und Versicherungsschutz für ein technisches Großproblem, Nomos Verlag Baden-Baden 1998)

Lehrtätigkeiten

Gut zu wissen

Assistenz
Helen Trümper
Sarah Zentner
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Daniel Scharpf
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Ulrich A. Götz
Dr. Oliver Klein
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Wolfgang Döring
Hendrik Stroborn
Sabine Przerwok
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Florian Krug
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Rüdiger Strubel
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Bernhard Fritz
Marc Blaha
Marin Mrvelj
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Constanze Stallecker
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Sarah Zentner
Dr. Reinhard Möller
Daniel Scharpf
Dr. Thomas Scharpf
Ulrich A. Götz
Dr. Oliver Klein
Prof. Dr. Michael Bartsch
Dr. Stephanie Funk
Wolfgang Döring
Hendrik Stroborn
Sabine Przerwok
Dr. Alexander Hoff
Florian Krug
Joachim Dorschel
Dr. habil. Christian Förster
Rüdiger Strubel
Alexandra Steg, LL.B.
Bernhard Fritz
Marc Blaha
Marin Mrvelj
Julien Sweeting, LL.M. (London)
Constanze Stallecker
Dr. Gerhard Wagner
Rückruf

Bitte hinterlassen Sie Ihre Kontaktdaten und eine Zeitspanne, in der Sie am besten zu erreichen sind.

Öffnungszeiten:  Mo. bis Fr.  08–17 Uhr

Bahnhofstraße 10
76137 Karlsruhe